Wear your seatbelt or risk a ticket

Throughout New York this week, police are targeting drivers who are not wearing their seatbelts. Known as “Click It or Ticket” nationwide and “Buckle Up New York” in our home state, this campaign is meant to reinforce the importance of wearing your seatbelt while driving.

This campaign will last from May 22nd to June 4th. During that time, police will be ticketing occupants around the clock who fail to wear a seatbelt. They will also be setting up checkpoints to check all vehicle occupants for compliance with the law.

Know the seatbelt law

In New York, drivers and passengers in the front seat are required to wear seatbelts. Additionally, minors under the age of 16 in the backseat must also wear a seatbelt or be in a child safety restraint system.

Fines can range from $25 to $100, depending on the situation. Each offender in the vehicle can be ticketed. Additionally, the driver can receive three points on their license for every infraction in the vehicle. While the fine may seem minor, points on your license can add up quickly. If you receive 11 points in an 18-month period, your license can be suspended.

Be safe on the road and be sure to buckle up on New York roads.