New York authorities are actively pursuing drunk motorists

Every day authorities are on the street, patrolling for those that have gotten behind the wheel after a couple of drinks. New York police will stop at nothing to track down potential drunk driving suspects.

For example, one man was charged with driving while intoxicated recently. This particular individual was at a Lockport 7-Eleven store, when authorities began an investigation. When police received a tip regarding an intoxicated driver in the neighborhood, officers pursued the individual and evaluated the suspect for signs of drunk driving. The man was arrested shortly after.

Moreover, a different suspect, a 21-year-old from Lockport, was recently slapped with similar charges after allegedly speeding on Transit Street in the middle of the night. New York State police arrested the individual, and he is expected to appear in court.

These are only two local examples; however, authorities hunt and drunk driving suspects all of the time. For this reason, if you are in the area, you should be especially cautious. The penalties associated with drunk driving in the state are severe.

New York drunk driving laws

In New York, if you drive with a blood-alcohol content of .08 or more, you can be charged with drunk driving. If you are convicted of this crime, you may deal with the following repercussions:

  • A hefty fine, which can range from $500-$1,000.
  • A surcharge, which adds a couple hundred dollars.
  • Up to one year behind bars.
  • A license suspension or revocation (depending on the circumstances of your case).
  • An ignition interlock device.
  • Treatment programs.

These are just some of the penalties linked to a conviction.

Of course, if one offends for a second time, the penalties increase. A subsequent offense may raise the charge to the felony level. Convicted individuals face more jail time - up to four years behind bars. Community service may be mandatory, and the fine increases from $1,000 to $5,000. One's license will be suspended for a minimum of one year, too.

Ultimately, there are several variations in charging and sentencing, depending on the facts of the crime. For example, a blood-alcohol level that is higher than .18 percent will increase a charge to an "aggravated" status. This will bring about severe penalties. Furthermore, any subsequent offense (after one conviction) will create an exponential increase in penalties.

Every case is unique. If you are facing drunk driving charges, it is important to work closely with an experienced criminal defense attorney. You may be able to reduce charges or associated sentences. Also, if the authorities did not arrest you in accordance with important criminal procedures, this could compromise the state's case against you.